COVID -19 has affected everyone in the World. Economies are suffering, people are dying and the world has at times stood still. Governments are trying to adapt to this pandemic and now Washington, effective June 26, 2020, has made it illegal not to wear a face mask in certain public situations.
In all indoor and outdoor public spaces a face mask is now mandatory for any individual over the age of 5. For children 2 years of age and under wearing a face mask is not a legal requirement, same for children ages 3 to 5 although this age group is heavily encouraged.
There are exceptions of course, and these exceptions include exercising alone or with fellow household members and eating in restaurants, so long as six foot social distancing is maintained.
A violation of this new law is a misdemeanor which is punishable up to 90 days of jail and a $1000 fine. If you have been cited with this new COVID face mask law in Mt Vernon Skagit County, please give us a call. Our Skagit County criminal defense attorneys and staff have more than 50 years of experience and can help defend you in court and protect your rights.
Is criminalizing a mask mandate a good idea? It may sound like a good idea to those who believe we need mask mandates but in reality, there may be a better solution. Watch this video to find out more.
A very hotly debated topic in 2020 are whether mask mandates are constitutional. It's not as simple as yes or no and the answer may change if this issue ever reaches the US Supreme Court. Watch this video for details.
College is back and COVID 19 numbers are skyrocketing. Watch this video for a discussion on this concerning issue.
This is part ii to the COVID and College video series with a focus on Washington State University and what Pullman is doing to help decrease concerning numbers of COVID 19 in eastern Washington.